Carle Illinois College of Medicine

Urbana, IllinoisMD Official website

Class size642025-2026Source for Class size
In-state tuition$54,486One year, tuition and feesSource for In-state tuition

Mission

The Carle Illinois College of Medicine is the world’s first engineering-based medical school. We educate exceptional physician-innovators to deliver high-value, compassionate health care through transformative solutions developed at the intersection of engineering, science and medicine. A CI MED physician innovator will be a leader who is trained via interdisciplinary immersion to develop these transformative health care solutions. Our vision is to be a global leader in transformative medical education, research and clinical care innovation, improving the health and well-being of patients and communities around the world. We are driven by key qualities that permeate our culture and result in a self-enhancing environment: • Compassion: We are focused on improving the human condition through compassionate care for patients, society and the world at large. • Competence: We are confident in our capacity to prepare board-certified physicians who are also innovators who will revolutionize healthcare delivery. • Curiosity: Change doesn’t just happen. Through a unique blend of unwavering curiosity, determination and a giant leap into new ways of thinking, we challenge the status quo. • Creativity: We will develop unprecedented solutions to society’s most challenging healthcare delivery problems by collectively building on each other’s creative ideas. • Collaboration: We leverage our strategic partnerships with Carle Health, the University of Illinois. and the community to enhance our innovative curriculum, expand learning opportunities, and advance human health. • Diversity: We actively promote an inclusive environment in which students, faculty, and staff can learn, teach, research, and serve.
As the school states it

Admissions office

Carle Illinois College of Medicine506 South Mathews AvenueChampaign, IL 61820 USA

Tuition and cost

Tuition and fees
In state$54,486
Out of state$67,604
One year, as reported. A missing figure means the school did not report it, never that it costs nothing.
Cost of attendance
In state$82,744
Out of state$96,202
Tuition plus the living costs the school budgets for. This is what a loan is sized against.
What you leave with
Average graduating debt
$192,737
Students receiving aid
94%
Health insurance
In state
$3,227
Out of state
$3,227

Who can apply

Out-of-state ApplicantsYesYes, Out-of-state applicants are considered equally with in-state applicants
Canadian ApplicantsConditionsNo, x
International ApplicantsConditionsNo, x
DACA Status ApplicantsConditionsNo, x
Transfer applicantsNoNot accepted
Community college prerequisitesYesAccepted
AP creditConditionsAccepted with conditions
Online courseworkConditionsAccepted with conditions
Pass/fail courseworkYesAccepted

All applicants are required to have earned a degree at the Bachelor’s level or higher from a U.S. or Canadian accredited college or university prior to matriculation in the MD Program.

Applying

How competitive is admission here?

45.1applications per seat2025-2026
2,889applications received2025-2026
18.9%from in state2025-2026
  1. MCAT scores this school will read
    Oldest accepted
    January 2024
    Latest accepted
    October 01, 2026
  2. AAMC PREview
    Policy
    We are not using PREview scores in the admissions
  3. Secondary application
    Required
    Yes
    Sent to
    Applicant's e-mail address from the AMCAS application
    Fee waiver
    Available
  4. Secondary deadlineNot stated by the school
  5. Letters of recommendation
    Committee letter
    Accepted
    Letter packet
    Accepted
    Individual letters
    Accepted
  6. InterviewNot stated by the school
  7. Deposit on an offer
    Required
    No

Prerequisite coursework

  • BiochemistryThe Biochemistry competency is demonstrated through one semester or equivalent of biochemistry. Biochemistry competency may be one of the nine out of 11 competencies required but is not required in and of itself.Recommended
  • BiologyThe Biology and Advanced Biology competencies may be met through coursework: - Biology: two semesters or equivalent with lab - Advanced Biology: one semester or equivalent Both of these competencies may be used for one or two of the required 9 of 11 competencies, but neither are required in and of themselves.LabRecommended
  • ChemistryThe Chemistry competency is demonstrated through three semesters or equivalent of general and/or organic chemistry with labs. Chemistry competency may be one of the nine out of 11 competencies required but is not required in and of itself.LabRecommended
  • MathematicsThere are FOUR competencies related to mathematics: - Calculus: two semesters or equivalent, with the higher-level course being equivalent to UIUC's MATH 231 (Calculus II) - Multivariate Calculus: one semester or equivalent, with course content comparable to UIUC's MATH 241 (Calculus III) - Differential Equations: one semester or equivalent, with course content comparable to UIUC's MATH 285 (Intro to Differential Equations) - Linear Algebra: one semester or equivalent, with course content comparable to UIUC's MATH 415 (Applied Linear Algebra) or MATH 257 (Linear Algebra with Computational Applications) One or more of these may be used to meet the required 9 of 11 competencies, but none are required in and of themselves.Recommended
  • PhysicsThe Physics competency is met through two semesters or equivalent of physics coursework with lab. Physics competency may be one of the nine out of 11 competencies required but is not required in and of itself.LabRecommended
  • SociologyThe Humanities/Social Science competency may be met through one semester or equivalent of coursework in any humanities or social science discipline, with no preference for a particular subject. The Humanities/Social Science competency may be one of the nine out of 11 competencies required but is not required in and of itself.Recommended
  • StatisticsThe Statistics competency may be met through one semester or equivalent of Statistics coursework. The Statistics competency may be used as one of the required 9 of 11 competencies but is not required in and of itself.Recommended

Interview

A typical interview day

Carle Illinois College of Medicine does not conduct interviews. Our preliminary evaluations begin in July and are typically completed by the end of winter break. Finalist evaluation generally begins mid-fall, and offers do not typically go out until the following January.

If you are waitlisted

Waitlist positions
We are committed to a "realistic" waitlist, meaning that if you are placed on the waitlist, applicants like you have been accepted in the past.

Position on the waitlist will not be disclosed. Movement of our waitlist varies considerably from year to year.

Sources

Figures here were last reviewed on 2026-08-04.

PreMD publishes no ranking of medical schools and republishes nobody else's. Reported averages and medians describe entering classes; they do not predict an applicant's result.

PreMD is an independent planning tool for applicants. It is not affiliated with, sponsored by or endorsed by this school, and this is not the school's official website. Marks are shown for identification.