West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine

Lewisburg, West VirginiaDOWVSOM Official website

MCAT501.0Mean · Entering classSource for MCAT
GPA3.62Average · Entering classSource for GPA
Class size2082024-2025Source for Class size
In-state tuition$23,594As reported to AACOMSource for In-state tuition

Locations, tuition and deadline

From AACOM's Choose D.O. Explorer, the directory every osteopathic applicant is pointed at. Colleges report it to AACOM themselves.

Campus setting
Rural

Reported for the college as a whole, not per location.

Closest city
Lewisburg, WV
First-year matriculants
207
Dual and concurrent degrees
  • DO/MBA
  • DO/MPH

Reported by each college to AACOM and not verified by AACOM. PreMD reproduces it with AACOM's written permission for educational, non-commercial use. This college on the Choose D.O. Explorer, read 2026-09-15.

Tuition and cost

Tuition and fees
In state$23,594
Out of state$56,394
One year, as reported. A missing figure means the school did not report it, never that it costs nothing.
After graduation
Monthly loan payment
$3,064
Earnings, 1 year out
$61,064
Earnings, 5 years out
$70,706

Loan payment is on federal graduate loans only. Earnings are medians for everyone who finished this program, and a year out most of them are in residency.

Applying

How competitive is admission here?

24.4applications per seat2024-2025
5,071applications received2024-2025
—from in state
  1. MCAT scores this school will read
    Oldest accepted
    January 1, 2024
    Latest accepted
    January 31, 2027
  2. AAMC PREviewNot stated by the school
  3. Primary application deadline
    Due
    March 1, 2027
  4. Secondary application
    Required
    Yes
    Fee
    No supplemental fee. If offered an interview, an interview fee is required. ($80 out-
    Sent to
    Screened Applicants
    Fee waiver
    Yes
  5. Secondary deadline
    Due
    March 30, 2027
  6. Letters of recommendationNot stated by the school
  7. Interview
    Format
    Traditional
  8. Deposit on an offerNot stated by the school

Prerequisite coursework

  • AnatomyRecommended
  • Biochemistry3 semester hoursRequired
  • Biology/ZoologyLab6 semester hoursRequired
  • Cell/Molecular BiologyRecommended
  • Chemistry (Inorganic)9 semester hoursRequired
  • Chemistry (Organic)Recommended
  • GeneticsRecommended
  • ImmunologyRecommended
  • MicrobiologyRecommended
  • Physics6 semester hoursRequired
  • PhysiologyRecommended
  • Additional Science CoursesRequired
  • Behavioral Sciences6 semester hoursRequired
  • College English6 semester hoursRequired

Interview

Traditional
Video interview

Option to interview virtually or in-person

How the school describes it

Traditional

Sources

PreMD publishes no ranking of medical schools and republishes nobody else's. Reported averages and medians describe entering classes; they do not predict an applicant's result.

PreMD is an independent planning tool for applicants. It is not affiliated with, sponsored by or endorsed by this school, and this is not the school's official website. Marks are shown for identification.